Teacher of Merit Award

Supporting our Teachers

The Teacher of Merit Award is an independent fund managed through the Munster Education Foundation and the Teacher of Merit Committee members. It was established through a generous $1 million donation in 2015 from Munster High School graduate, and Morningstar founder, Joe Mansueto to help retain high-quality Munster teachers. The fund provides all teachers, who have ranked in the top two district evaluation categories and are returning to the district for the next year, with a monetary award. Evaluations are completed by the district each spring and returning teachers receive their award in August. This past August, 166 teachers were provided with awards!

You can contribute to this program to incentivize our high-quality teachers to continue their dedication to Munster students. You may also mail a check and just indicate Teacher of Merit in the memo line (PO Box 3046 • Munster, IN 46321) or contact any Teacher of Merit Committee member.

Testimonials from two Munster teachers, Leigh Ann Westland and Amanda Jez, as they talk about the importance of the Teacher of Merit Award and the support from the Munster community.

Follow Teacher of Merit